Engineering experts among first recipients of UAE's 10-year visas

Researchers of desalination, robotics, and 'dark matter' named in list of 20 scientists to be granted new visa

The UAE has granted the first set of its 10-year, long-term visas to researchers and scientists from prominent universities.
© Abu Dhabi Municipality
The UAE has granted the first set of its 10-year, long-term visas to researchers and scientists from prominent universities.

The UAE has named the first recipients of its long-term, 10-year visas, less than a year after the system was launched in May 2018.

Mechanical and electrical engineering experts are among the list of specialists that were granted 10-year UAE visas. The list includes the winners of Mohammad Bin Rashid Medal for Scientific Excellence’s first and second editions, as well as 18 other shortlisted experts.

READ: Technical staff to benefit from the UAE's 10-year visa plan

Jordanian national and Khalifa University staff Dr Hassan Arafat, winner of Mohammad Bin Rashid Medal for Scientific Excellence's first edition, has been granted a 10-year visa for his contributions to the study of water desalination and treatment using renewable energy. Arafat’s research featured cooperation with the UAE’s Masdar Institute of Science and Technology, and America’s Massachusetts Institute of Technology.

Also among the 20 experts granted the 10-year visa is Lakmal Seneviratne, professor of mechanical engineering; founding director of Khalifa University’s centre of robotics. According to a report by the UAE’s state news agency, Wam, Seneviratne specialises in robotics and automation, as well as complex systems.

Many of Seneviratne’s colleagues at Khalifa University are included in the 10-year visa grant round, with Ehab Al-Saadani, the professor within the university’s electrical and computer engineering department, also included in the list.

Dr Hatem Zain El Din, professor within the same department, is one of the recipients of the UAE’s 10-year visas. His areas of focus include renewable energy, intelligent networks, energy systems, and the integration and effects of renewable energy on operations.

Other recipients on the list of 20 include Dr Lihadh Al Gazali from the UAE University, recognised for her achievements in the field of genetics; and New York University Abu Dhabi’s head of physics, Professor Andrea Machio, who has extensively studied astrophysics and numerical simulation, and has interest in “understanding the nature and origins of the mysterious dark elements of the universe, especially dark energy and dark matter”, according to an Arabic-language Wam report.  

Most popular


Deadline approaches for CW Oman Awards 2020 in Muscat
You have until 20 January to submit your nominations for the ninth edition of the


CW In Focus | Inside the Leaders in KSA Awards 2019 in Riyadh
Meet the winners in all 10 categories and learn more about Vision 2030 in this
CW In Focus | Leaders in Construction Summit UAE 2019
A roundup of Construction Week's annual summit that was held in Dubai this September

Latest Issue

Construction Week - Issue 765
Jun 29, 2020