CW Awards Oman: Larsen & Toubro gets infra prize

Jahloot Grid Station lands firm Infrastructure Project of the Year

K Muthupandi of Larsen & Toubro, collected the award from Peter Hall of Al Hassan.
K Muthupandi of Larsen & Toubro, collected the award from Peter Hall of Al Hassan.
NEWS, Projects, Awards, Construction Week, Oman

Work on the Jahloot Grid Station earned contractor Larsen & Toubro the award for Infrastructure Project of the Year at the Construction Week Awards: Oman.

The judges described the winner as a challenging infrastructure project being carried out in a tough mountain environment.

They also noted that it is clearly a technically challenging project, which will have major positive implications for the surrounding areas.

K Muthupandi, project manager at Larsen & Toubro, collected the award on behalf of the project team from Peter Hall of Al Hassan Group, a silver sponsor of the event.

"This project includes 76km of transmission lines, passing through extremely hilly territory," said Muthupandi. "We had to build special foundations, bring in specialist teams and we still maintained good cost control and managed timely completion."

Larsen & Toubro was also highly commended in the Contractor of the Year category.

The award was announced at a gala ceremony held in Muscat, which saw 12 accolades presented to a selection of industry-leading companies, projects and individuals.

Selected finalists from the Construction Week Awards: Oman, which was sponsored by Famco, will get a further chance to claim success at the GCC edition of the Construction Week Awards, to be held in Dubai, on 11 December.

Entries to the awards were submitted online and winners were selected by a panel of nine judges.

This is the second year Construction Week has run an awards programme in Oman.

A full review of all the winners will appear in the March 30 issue of Construction Week.

For a full list of winners from CW Awards Oman 2013 click here 


Most popular


CW Oman Awards 2020: Meet the winners
A round of the thirteen winning names at the Construction Week Oman Awards 2020 that


Leaders UAE 2020: Building a sustainable, 'resilient' infra
AESG’s Phillipa Grant, Burohappold’s Farah Naz, and Samana's Imran Farooq on a sustainable built environment
CW In Focus | Inside the Leaders in KSA Awards 2019 in Riyadh
Meet the winners in all 10 categories and learn more about Vision 2030 in this

Latest Issue

Construction Week - Issue 767
Sep 01, 2020