MEP Awards 2015: John Makaronas - Mechanical prize

John Makaronas of Atkins was described by judges as an analytical thinker and an outstanding all round engineer in winning Mechanical Engineer of the Year

MEP Middle East Awards
MEP Middle East Awards

John Makaronas of Atkins was crowned Mechanical Engineer of the Year at the 2015 MEP Middle East Awards held on Wednesday 18 November at the Park Hyatt in Dubai.

Makaronas was described by judges as an analytical thinker, particularly around sustainability and technologies, and an outstanding all round engineer.

He also received credit for his clear commitment to personal development and the development of others, the judges added.

Makaronas, senior mechanical engineer, said: " “Two big projects this year were Dubai Opera and Riyadh Metro – both have been unique and extremely challenging.

“The Opera House offered every challenge that an engineer could want to see in one design – acoustics, sustainability, multi-functional design, working in compact spaces, use of BIM.

“It’s like six buildings in one.”

Highly commended was Raveendran Deepu of Ted Jacob Engineering, who drew praise from the judges for being an expert in HVAC design and being involved in numerous flagship projects.

The other shortlisted finalists were: Lubna Mohammad Saeed (BK Gulf), Oliver Price (Godwin Austen Johnson), Scott McKeever (Arcadis), and Alistair Davis (Black & White Engineering).

An independent panel of judges six judges (with MEP Middle East having the deciding vote in the case of a tie) made up of industry professionals from across the GCC and throughout the construction sector came up with the final decision in each of the 15 categories.

This year’s the event was supported by Platinum Sponsor Trimble, Gold Sponsors Famco, ALEMCO, Arcadis, SSH, and Elemecs; Silver Sponsors Betec CAD, Leminar and Rheem Manufacturing; Category Sponsors Trox, Energi People, IMI Hydronic Engineering, Faisal Jassam Trading, Beeby Anderson Recruitment (B-A-R); Entertainment Sponsor Black & White Engineering; and Social Media Sponsor Godwin Austen Johnson.



Most popular


CW Oman Awards 2020: Meet the winners
A round of the thirteen winning names at the Construction Week Oman Awards 2020 that


Leaders UAE 2020: Building a sustainable, 'resilient' infra
AESG’s Phillipa Grant, Burohappold’s Farah Naz, and Samana's Imran Farooq on a sustainable built environment
CW In Focus | Inside the Leaders in KSA Awards 2019 in Riyadh
Meet the winners in all 10 categories and learn more about Vision 2030 in this

Latest Issue

Construction Week - Issue 767
Sep 01, 2020