MEP Awards 2015: WSP wins Plumbing Project award

WSP | Parsons Brinckerhoff won the accolade for its work on the expansion of the Mall of the Emirates in Dubai

MEP Middle East Awards 2015.
MEP Middle East Awards 2015.

WSP | Parsons Brinckerhoff landed the Plumbing Project of the Year at the 2015 MEP Middle East Awards held on Wednesday 18 November at the Park Hyatt Hotel in Dubai.

The award was one of three the firm won on the night, with the others being Project Manager of the Year and Plumbing Engineer of the Year.

WSP | Parsons Brinckerhoff won the accolade for its work on the expansion of the Mall of the Emirates in Dubai.

The Mall of the Emirates is the first retail project in the region to go through a major vertical redevelopment whilst remaining fully operational.

The expansion provides a further 35,000m2 of retail, a new 24 screen VOX cinema as well as 12 restaurants and cafes.

WSP | Parsons Brinckerhoff were commissioned to undertake the full design of the expansion including MEP, fire & life safety, fire protection design, ICT , audio visual, acoustic and vertical transportation services.

Gregory, senior technical director, and Dean McGrail, director – property and buildings, said: "We added a whole new level of retail on to an operational mall with no loss of trading for the retailers. It was very challenging but all done very successfully, and the client is very happy.

“It was a great client, great contractor, great designer – a great team.

“It helped that we designed the original mall 10 years ago, so we knew the systems.”

This year’s the event was supported by Platinum Sponsor Trimble, Gold Sponsors Famco, ALEMCO, Arcadis, SSH, and Elemecs; Silver Sponsors Betec CAD, Leminar and Rheem Manufacturing; Category Sponsors Trox, Energi People, IMI Hydronic Engineering, Faisal Jassam Trading, Beeby Anderson Recruitment (B-A-R); Entertainment Sponsor Black & White Engineering; and Social Media Sponsor Godwin Austen Johnson.



Most popular


CW Oman Awards 2020: Meet the winners
A round of the thirteen winning names at the Construction Week Oman Awards 2020 that


Leaders UAE 2020: Building a sustainable, 'resilient' infra
AESG’s Phillipa Grant, Burohappold’s Farah Naz, and Samana's Imran Farooq on a sustainable built environment
CW In Focus | Inside the Leaders in KSA Awards 2019 in Riyadh
Meet the winners in all 10 categories and learn more about Vision 2030 in this

Latest Issue

Construction Week - Issue 767
Sep 01, 2020