CW Awards 2015: Engineer of the Year crowned

BIM-savvy engineer scoops prestigious honour in Dubai

John Makaronas, Atkins.
John Makaronas, Atkins.
John Makaronas was crowned Engineer of the Year at CW Awards 2015.
John Makaronas was crowned Engineer of the Year at CW Awards 2015.

John Makaronas of Atkins was crowned Engineer of the Year at the Construction Week Awards 2015, held on Wednesday, 9 December at InterContinental – Dubai Festival City.

This is Makaronas’s second award for the year – he was also recognised as MEP Middle East’s Mechanical Engineer of the Year 2015.

At Atkins, Makaronas has benchmarked the use of BIM as a design tool in the Dubai Opera and Riyadh Metro projects to demonstrate the feasibility, integrity, and consistency of his solutions.

He was also instrumental in providing sustainable solutions for Dubai Metro stations to reduce energy consumption and carbon emissions.

His simulations and analysis returned annual savings up to 18% on cooling and 25% on electric energy with the minimum payback period.

Judges hailed Makaronas for his impressive portfolio of “often complex” projects.

As one judge said: “Through sharing his knowledge, he internally mentors Atkins, along with providing external guidance on the concept of model technical computing to participating engineers.”

Remarking upon receiving his award, Makaronas said: "I’m really speechless to receive this award if I am being honest, and that is due to the calibre of the people who have entered.

"I think the reason I have received this accolade is that I am part of a team which really rises to challenges."

Makaronas continued: "This part of the world is the right place to [rise to challenges] as there is so much room to experiment when it comes to projects.

"You can see and realise your own limits and then look beyond them," he added. 

WSP | Parsons Brinckerhoff’s Tom Sweeney was highly commended in this category, where other shortlisted nominees included KEO’s Ali Shaukat, Arcadis’s David Williams, Black & White Engineering’s Iain MacDougall, and Parsons’s Najdat Othman.

An independent panel of eight judges made up of industry professionals from across the GCC and throughout the construction sector came up with the final decision in each of the 14 categories.

Construction Week Awards 2015 was supported by Platinum Sponsors FAMCO and Arcadis, Gold Sponsors Liebherr GENAVCO, Nora, ALEC and Logical Contracting, Category Sponsors Projacs, Kone, Aecom, Atkins, Soprema and Brookfield Multiplex, Official Aluminium Extruder NAPCO, Supporting Association The Chartered Institute of Building, and Social Media Sponsor, WSP | Parsons Brinckerhoff.

Most popular


Deadline approaches for CW Oman Awards 2020 in Muscat
You have until 20 January to submit your nominations for the ninth edition of the


CW In Focus | Inside the Leaders in KSA Awards 2019 in Riyadh
Meet the winners in all 10 categories and learn more about Vision 2030 in this
CW In Focus | Leaders in Construction Summit UAE 2019
A roundup of Construction Week's annual summit that was held in Dubai this September

Latest Issue

Construction Week - Issue 765
Jun 29, 2020