EmiratesGBC hosts 2017 MENA Green Building Awards in Dubai

Consolidated Contractors Company (CCC) was named Contractor of the Year, and Majid Al Futtaim collected the Developer of the Year trophy

The winners of the 2017 MENA Green Building Awards.
The winners of the 2017 MENA Green Building Awards.

Emirates Green Building Council (EmiratesGBC), a forum aimed at conserving the environment by promoting green building practices, has announced the winners of the 2017 MENA Green Building Awards.

The awards are designed to recognise innovation, creativity, and excellence in the promotion of sustainability.

With submissions from six nations across the Middle East and North Africa (MENA) region, this year's event highlighted the growing focus of industry stakeholders on innovation and best best practice within sustainable built environments.

At a carbon-neutral awards ceremony held at Dubai's Roda Al Murooj hotel, the winners in various professional categories were honoured in the presence of government officials, industry leaders, and academics.

Supported by the World Green Building Council (WorldGBC), the 2017 MENA Green Building Awards were organised by EmiratesGBC in partnership with the JordanGBC and LebanonGBC.

Saeed Al Abbar, chairman of EmiratesGBC, said: “This year, we had a record number of submissions, underlined by their quality, creativity and original thinking. Across all the categories, what is clearly apparent is the focus on pushing boundaries, setting new benchmarks and contributing to the all-round vision of securing a greener future for our coming generations.”

Green Hotel of the Year was awarded to Hilton Garden Inn, Mall of the Emirates (Majid Al Futtaim), while Cleveland Clinic Abu Dhabi won the Green Commercial Building award.

The Green School award was conferred to the University of Dubai Green Residential Building and the

Sustainable Design of the Year was awarded to Neighbourhood One Residences Phase 1.

Facility Management Organisation of the Year was awarded to Emaar and CBFA JV Partnering Innovation.

The Contractor of the Year award was conferred to Consolidated Contractors Company (CCC).  Majid Al Futtaim won the Developer of the Year award.

Most popular


Deadline approaches for CW Oman Awards 2020 in Muscat
You have until 20 January to submit your nominations for the ninth edition of the


CW In Focus | Inside the Leaders in KSA Awards 2019 in Riyadh
Meet the winners in all 10 categories and learn more about Vision 2030 in this
CW In Focus | Leaders in Construction Summit UAE 2019
A roundup of Construction Week's annual summit that was held in Dubai this September

Latest Issue

Construction Week - Issue 765
Jun 29, 2020