CW Awards 2017: Construction Executive of the Year crowned

ConstructionWeekOnline reveals the winner of its Construction Executive of the Year Award, which was presented at the Construction Week Awards 2017 in Dubai

WSP's Dean McGrail was named Construction Executive of the Year at the <i>Construction Week</i> Awards 2017.
WSP's Dean McGrail was named Construction Executive of the Year at the <i>Construction Week</i> Awards 2017.

WSP’s Dean McGrail was named Construction Executive of the Year at the Construction Week Awards 2017.

McGrail was universally praised by our panel of independent industry judges for his operational and strategic leadership. Panellists were also impressed by the glowing references submitted by his colleagues.

In the words of one judge: “McGrail received tremendous feedback from his team. They clearly value him, and his professional development during the past year has been significant to say the least.”

WATCH: Judges meet in Dubai to discuss the CW Awards 2017 shortlist

Commenting on McGrail, Garald Todd, director of specialist services at WSP, said: "I think an example of a great leader in this industry is somebody who looks after their people, who puts their people first and realise that when you put your people first, the client [benefits].

"And so when you look at Dean, at his work ethic, and how he looks after his business, [...] I think it [gives] a really powerful message [to] the industry that it’s about the people."

Aurecon’s Ermis Marques was named this year’s Highly Commended Construction Executive.

Other shortlisted nominations included Future Metro’s Abdul Hamid Moukayed; DeSimone Structural Engineers’ Ahmed Osman; Design Group Engineering Consultants’ (DGEC) Damodar R Katti; Arabtec Holding and Depa’s Hamish Tyrwhitt; Khansaheb’s Luay Ayyash; and China State Construction Engineering Corporation Middle East’s (CSCEC ME) Yu Tao.

An independent panel of judges, comprising eight of the Middle East’s foremost construction experts, selected winners in 14 categories at the Construction Week Awards 2017.

The event was supported by Gold Sponsors ALEC, HPBS, HBF, EB, National Engineering Bureau (NEB), and Union National Bank (UNB); Silver Sponsors Arabtec, Depa, Future Metro, and WME Consultants; Category Sponsors Construction Computer Software (CCS), DeSimone Structural Engineers, JLG, Kone, Multiplex, and Ramboll; Social Media Partner, WSP; and Post-Event Celebration Sponsor, BAM International.

Most popular


Deadline approaches for CW Oman Awards 2020 in Muscat
You have until 20 January to submit your nominations for the ninth edition of the


CW In Focus | Inside the Leaders in KSA Awards 2019 in Riyadh
Meet the winners in all 10 categories and learn more about Vision 2030 in this
CW In Focus | Leaders in Construction Summit UAE 2019
A roundup of Construction Week's annual summit that was held in Dubai this September

Latest Issue

Construction Week - Issue 765
Jun 29, 2020